Iranian Scholar 2010 Fellow of AAAS

Saturday, May 8, 2010

Active ImageParviz Moin, the Franklin P. and Caroline M. Johnson Professor in the School of Engineering at Stanford University has been named fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences along with other scholars and researchers.

Ten scholars and researchers from Stanford have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

They are among the 229 leaders in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, arts, business and public affairs elected this month to the prestigious honorary societies. A center for independent policy research, the Academy celebrates the 230th anniversary of its founding this year.

Here is the list of New AAAS Fellows:

Christopher B. Field, professor of biology and of environmental Earth system science; director, Department of Global Ecology, Carnegie Institution of Washington.

Michael A. Keller, the Ida M. Green University Librarian; director, Academic Information Resources; publisher, Highwire Press.

Karla Kirkegaard, professor and chair, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, School of Medicine.

Michael Levitt, professor of structural biology, School of Medicine.

Grigori Mints, professor of philosophy and, by courtesy, of mathematics.

Parviz Moin, the Franklin P. and Caroline M. Johnson Professor in the School of Engineering; professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering.

Myron S. Scholes, the Frank E. Buck Professor of Finance, Emeritus, Graduate School of Business; retired chairman, Platinum Grove Asset Management LP.

Gary Michael Segura, professor of political science; chair, Program in Chicana/o Studies.

Thomas C. Südhof, the Avram Goldstein Professor in the School of Medicine; professor of molecular and cellular physiology; investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

Philip G. Zimbardo, professor emeritus of psychology.

Active ImageParviz Moin is the Franklin P. and Caroline M. Johnson Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Stanford University. He received his Bachelors degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Minnesota in 1974, his Masters degree in Mathematics and his Masters and Ph.D degrees in Mechanical Engineering from Stanford in 1978. He held the posts of National Research Council Fellow, Staff Scientist and Senior Staff Scientist at NASA Ames Research Center Research Center.

Moin is the founding director of the Center for Turbulence Research at Stanford and Ames. Established in 1987 as a research consortium between NASA and Stanford, Center of Turbulence Research is devoted to fundamental studies of turbulent flows. Center of Turbulence Research is widely recognized as the international focal point for turbulence research, attracting diverse groups of researchers from engineering, mathematics and physics.

Professor Moin has been awarded NASA's Exceptional Scientific Achievement Medal, the AIAA Lawrence Sperry Award, AIAA Fluid Dynamics Award, the NASA Outstanding Leadership Medal, the Outstanding Achievement Award of the University of Minnesota, the Humboldt Prize of the Federal Republic of Germany, a Doctores Honoris Causa from the Universidad Politecnica de Madrid. In 2009, he was recognized by the Chinese Academy of Sciences with an Einstein Professorship. Professor Moin is the recipient of the APS Fluid Dynamics Prize. He is recognized as an ISI highly cited researcher. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and AIAA, and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

طراحی و توسعه آگاه‌سیستم