Iranian Physicist Wins International Math Award

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

The fourth “Hermann Wile” award has been given to Iranian physicist, Dr. Mohammad Mehdi Sheikh Jabbari, a young researcher of the Tehran-based Institute for Studies in Theoretical Physics and Mathematics.

The award will be given to him through an official ceremony to be held during the 27th edition of biannual scientific conference on physics, in Yerevan, Armenia, on August 13-18.

The event will be hosted by Yerevan International Center for Advanced Studies as well as the physics department of Yerevan State University in cooperation with the Russian Nuclear Research Institute.

The award includes a certificate, cash prize, and the cost of taking part at a conference on group theory in physics.

Dr. Sheikh Jabbari has already won annual prize of the permanent Committee on Scientific and Technological Cooperation (COMSTEC) which is affiliated to the Organization of the Islamic Conference. He has also won the 2007 prize of Abdus Salam International Center for Theoretical Physics.

Sheikh Jabbari explained about his selection for the prize by saying that winners of the prize are usually selected out of young scientists ageing below 35.

“I don’t know who has nominated me, but the prize was given to me for a series of studies on application of formulation of quantum field theory in geometry,” he added.

Sheikh Jabbari was admitted to electronic course of Sharif University of Technology ranking 69th in related examinations. He then changed course to physics and was graduated in 1994. In 1995, he began his doctorate degree studies in the same discipline.

After obtaining his doctorate degree in 1997, he spent about 1.5 years at Basic Sciences Research Institute. Then he took a two-year scholarship in Trieste, Italy, and also studied at Stanford University for three years.

Sheikh Jabbari returned to the country about 3.5 years ago and is currently heading the Physics Department of Basic Sciences Research Institute.

He has won the Kharazmi Award for the youth in 2002, been chosen as the country’s exemplary researcher in 2003 and 2005, has won international Kharazmi Award in 2006 and has been chosen as exemplary professor of the country in May 2008.

طراحی و توسعه آگاه‌سیستم