Academy Awards organization invites two Iranian filmmakers

Sunday, July 2, 2017


Two Iranian filmmakers have been selected by organizers of the Academy Awards to join its membership this year.

Iranian filmmakers Rakhshan Bani-Etemad and Bahman Qobadi will join their international counterparts in the writers’ branch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the organization recently announced via an official release.

This week, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences invited 774 members from 57 countries to join the organization, marking a new record for invitees in a single year.

The two filmmakers will join Iranian actress Leila Hatami, who was also selected as a member of the Academy this year.

Legendary filmmaker Abbas Kiarostami was among the list of invitees last year.

The academy has been under pressure to diversify its membership for several years.

Among other high-profile actors invited to the Academy are Oscar nominee Naomie Harris, Donald Glover, Chris Hemsworth, Dwayne Johnson, Adam Driver, Priyanka Chopra, Betty White, Amy Poehler, Chris Pratt, Anna Faris, Margot Robbie, Channing Tatum, Kristen Stewart, and Rupert Grint.

Iran made history during the latest Academy Awards ceremony with director Asghar Farhadi winning his second Oscar prize for his film ‘The Salesman’. In 2012, he became the first Iranian to win the prestigious award for his film ‘A Separation’, which also won the Best Foreign Language award.


*Source: IFilmTV