Iran Review > Interviews
Negotiations Channel Must Be Kept Open
Saturday, February 6, 2016

Gholamali Khoshroo
At any rate and in the real world, we, as a major regional power, and the United States, as a big global power, which is ectopically present in our region and in our periphery, including in the Persian Gulf will inevitably come face to face in certain cases. For example, such incidents as trespassing of two US Marines’ boats on Iran’s coastal waters and the likes of that can always take place and we must be ready and make necessary plans to prevent escalation of the situation and do not let such incidents get out of hand. 

Read More...
 
Iran’s Return to International Community Undermines Saudi Aspirations for Regional Supremacy
Saturday, February 6, 2016

Shireen T. Hunter
“Iran’s return to international community will undermine Saudi aspirations for regional supremacy, and even more its hopes that a U.S.-Iran military confrontation would weaken Iran to a point that it would not be a contender for regional power,” said Prof. Shireen T. Hunter in an interview with Iran Review.

Read More...
 
Pakistan Not Bowing to Saudi Arabia’s Demands Anymore
Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Masha’allah Shakeri
The [so-called anti-terror] coalition formed by Saudi Arabia is unreliable and the result of a hasty decision, which casts doubt on the essence of forming coalition. Pakistan has voiced its protest to this issue since the very beginning. However, two factors must be taken into account in this regard. 

Read More...
 
The IPC Terms Demonstrate a Big Improvement on Iran’s Old Oil Contract Model
Saturday, January 16, 2016

Richard Mallinson
A noted analyst specializing in the geopolitics of energy and Middle East energy affairs believes the new IPC terms demonstrate a major improvement on Iran’s old upstream contracts and definitely lures the European firms that previously did business with Iran, but left the country following the introduction of sanctions in 2012. Nevertheless, he believes these companies might start returning to Iran by “testing the water” and seeing if reinvestment would be safe and cost-effective.

Read More...
 
Continuation of Sanctions Deprives US from Interaction with Iran
Monday, January 11, 2016

Mohammad Farhad Koleini
These days, Tehran and Washington are going through tumultuous and tense times in their relations. Although some assessments had it that the achievement of the Joint Comprehensive Program of Action (JCPOA) will prompt Iran and the United States to move toward détente, but efforts made by radical elements on both sides have overshadowed JCPOA and even intensified past distrust. New tension in recent days has been a result of news about the United States’ decision to impose new sanctions on Iran over the country’s missile program. 

Read More...
 
Iran, an Important Actor in the Middle East
Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Lenita Toivakka
The people in Iran possess a rich culture. In my opinion face-to-face contacts between our people and the people of Iran must increase, so that, they would know each other’s cultures better. In today’s world we need to treat each other with more respect and, in my opinion, the best way to achieve this goal, is to obtain a better understanding of each other. I invite the Iranian people to travel to our country and become familiar with our people. 

Read More...
 
JCPOA Has Not Solved Outstanding Issues in Other Areas
Saturday, December 19, 2015

Michael Baron Von Ungern Sternberg
He believes that although "the nuclear agreement has opened doors for more cooperation but it has not solved outstanding issues in other areas. On Syria, there are some serious and well-known disagreements". 

Read More...
 
Stronger Iran - US Relations Serves their National Interests Better
Wednesday, December 16, 2015

Mahmoud Sadri
In the following interview with Iran Review, Prof. Mahmoud Sadri presented an analysis of the anti-Iran polemics being rehearsed in the U.S. electoral debates and how it’s being offset by the Iranian community in America, the role of Israel in obstructing Iran-U.S. rapprochement and the dynamics of the implementation of the historic nuclear deal signed by Iran and the six world powers on July 14. 

Read More...
 
Great Powers Unable to Forge a Coherent Strategy to Deal with Syrian Crisis
Sunday, December 13, 2015

Sumit Ganguly
International observers expect that in the light of the nuclear agreement, Iran and the United States would initiate some limited cooperation to address the Syrian crisis and extinguish the flames of destruction and bloodshed that have engulfed the Arab country for some five years now. This is while a large number of Middle East scholars and researchers, including Prof. Sumit Ganguly, believe the great powers have been simply unable to forge strategies that would lead to the resolution of the spiraling calamity in Syria.

Read More...
 
IAEA Report Offers a Mutually-Acceptable Political Solution
Friday, December 11, 2015

Seyed Hossein Mousavian
Now that this report has been released, one can say that all measures taken on outstanding issues have reached a final conclusion and the way has been paved for closing the PMD case. 

Read More...
 
طراحی و توسعه آگاه‌سیستم